Cannabis Advisory Board

About the Cannabis Advisory Board

The Cannabis Advisory Board is a nineteen-member board comprised of community leaders and industry professionals that was established by the Rhode Island Cannabis Act of 2022 (the “Cannabis Act”), R.I. Gen. Laws § 21-28.11-1 et seq.  

The role of the Cannabis Advisory Board is to provide advice, recommendations and proposals to the Cannabis Control Commission on topics concerning the equitable administration and regulation of cannabis in the State of Rhode Island, including the social equity assistance fund.

The Cannabis Act designates five subcommittees focused on specific topic areas to expedite the work of the Cannabis Advisory Board.  

For additional information or questions regarding the Cannabis Advisory Board, please contact Policy Liaison and Legal Support to the Advisory Board, Carla Aveledo via email or phone 401-602-1612.

Upcoming Advisory Board Meetings

The Cannabis Advisory Board holds monthly public meetings that are open to the public in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. See Annual CalendarThe dates listed on the Annual Calendar are tentative and are subject to cancellation or modification on short notice. Please check the supplemental notices below. 

Cannabis Advisory Board Subcommittees

  • Public Health Subcommittee- Upcoming Meeting:  
  • Public Safety and Community Mitigation Subcommittee- Upcoming Meeting: 
  • Cannabis Industry Subcommittee - Upcoming Meeting: 
  • Market Participation Subcommittee- Upcoming Meeting: 
  • Social Equity Subcommittee- Upcoming Meeting: 

These subcommittees are comprised of members of the Cannabis Advisory Board and hold public meetings in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

The Cannabis Advisory Board consists of eight (8) non-voting members and eleven (11) voting members.  Of the voting members, three (3) are appointed by the Governor, including a social equity officer that serves as the chair of the Cannabis Advisory Board and a member that represents the cannabis laboratory testing industry.  Four members (4) are appointed by the Speaker of the House, including a member that represents the cannabis cultivation industry.  Four (4) members are appointed by the President of the Senate, including a member that represents the cannabis retail industry. The voting members of the Cannabis Advisory Board each serve a three (3) year term. 

Cannabis Advisory Board Voting Members

  • Ron Crosson, Chairperson
  • Emily Almeida
  • Dr. Mary Archibald
  • Angela Bannerman Ankoma
  • Angelyne Cooper-Bailey, Esq.
  • Michael DiLauro, Esq.
  • Dr. Dioscaris Garcia
  • Melina Lodge
  • Armand Lusi
  • Stuart Procter, Ph.D.
  • Nicole Verdi, Esq.

Cannabis Advisory Board Non-Voting Members​

  • Dr. Utpala Bandy, RI Department of Health
  • Richard Charest, RI Executive Office of Health and Human Services
  • Dr. Stephanie Dancause, University of Rhode Island
  • Elizabeth Dwyer, RI Department of Business Regulation
  • Angélica Infante-Green, RI Department of Education
  • Elizabeth Tanner, Secretary of Commerce
  • Col. Darnell S. Weaver, Department of Public Safety
  • Matthew Weldon, Department of Labor & Training