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The Rhode Island Cannabis Act
§ 21-28.11-104

Medical marijuana program parity

No later than April 1, 2024, the commission shall, in collaboration with the department of health and the office of management and
budget, conduct and deliver to the governor, the speaker of the house of representatives, and the president of the senate a study relating
to the impact of the implementation of adult use cannabis in Rhode Island on the existing medical marijuana program (MMP) established

pursuant to chapter 28.6 of this title. This study shall examine and make recommendations relating to, without limitation, the following:

(1) The extent to which the introduction of adult use cannabis has diminished or eliminated the availability of certain medical marijuana

products or product types;

(2) The extent to which patient cardholders in Rhode Island have experienced new or greater obstacles to obtaining medical marijuana,

including on the basis of price, quantity, product type, or geographic location;

(3) The extent to which the number of caregiver registrations and/or the number of plant tag certificates issued by the commission

increases or decreases; and

(4) The extent to which the introduction of the new adult use cannabis tax and license fee structure requires a realignment of the

existing medical marijuana tax and license fee structure




Food and Drugs
Chapter 28.11
The Rhode Island
Cannabis Act

R.l. Gen. Laws § 21-28.11-104

§ 21-28.11-104.

Medical marijuana program
parity.

(4) The extent to which the introduction of the new adult use
cannabis tax and license fee structure requires a realignment of

the existing medical marijuana tax and license fee structure.




Regional Tax Rates: Medical Marijuana vs. Adult-Use

States Total Medical Marijuana Total Adult-Use
Tax Rate Tax Rate
RHODE ISLAND 20%
17 - 20%
MASSACHUSETTS (depending if local tax applies)
~15 - 20%
CONNECTICUT (depending on THC content)

20 - 21%
VERMONT (depending if local tax applies)

MAINE 55-8% 10%
(depending on product
purchased)

NEW HAMPSHIRE 0% (No Adult-Use)

MARYLAND 0% 9%
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Medical Marijuana Tax Revenue

_ FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023

Compassion Center Surcharge (4%) $3,976,832 $3,100,693 $1,964,884

Sales Tax (Estimated) (7%) $6,959,456 $5,426,213 $3,438,547

Total Medical Tax Revenue $10,936,288 $8,526,906 $5,403,431
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Annual Retail Licensing Comparison

Retail License Hybrid Cannabis Compassion Center
Retailer

Rhode Island* $30,000 $125,000 $500,000

New Hampshire N/A N/A

Maryland N/A $25,000/ 5 years N/A




2023-2024 Compassion Center Retail Sales
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KEY TAKEAWAYS

e As expected with the implementation of adult-use cannabis in Rhode Island, medical marijuana patient registrations have been
steadily and rapidly declining.

e Overall medical marijuana sales have been trending downward since hybrid retailers came online, while adult-use sales have
been trending upward,

e Retail operations at the hybrid cannabis retailers continue to provide a variety of products on both the medical and adult-use
menus.

e As the number of medical marijuana patients decrease, caregiver and plant tag numbers have naturally decreased.

e Instead, however, the number of authorized purchasers has continued steadily following the requirement that a caregiver must
be actively growing to be considered as such, potentially driving cardholders to be authorized purchasers instead.

e Among New England states Rhode Island has the highest medical marijuana tax. All states but Maine and Rhode Island do not
charge a medical marijuana tax.

e The Cannabis Control Commission intends to preserve and improve the Medical Marijuana Program going forward as the rules
and regulations are promulgated under the Rhode Island Cannabis Act. This study, and the input from the medical community,
will continue to inform the CCC in its policy decisions and commitment to a strong medical marijuana program.
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